Friday thoughts, tea and my favorite cookies

I’ve been  busy with my daytime job lately (it also became an evening job nowadays!) and I’m feeling so guilty about having abandoned  here for some time.  Every time I promise myself to write more often and schedule for  visiting here at least 2 times  in a week but I couldn’t manage. What really makes me frustrated is giving myself promises and couldn’t realize them. I need to find a middle way and also learn not to blast at myself..

But during this period, of course, I did find some time for cooking/baking and photographed them. The first one is my favorite cookies with oatmeal. It’s super easy, preparation is not so much time consuming and it’s healthy. There is also another advantage of using oatmeal, you can be creative as you can! Add flavors, fruits, nuts you’d like, add oatmeal, stir them to create the dough, give the small pieces of dough shape, put them into the oven, bake.. Tadaam! They’re ready! 🙂

Let’s begin with the ingredients:

a1 (13).JPG

 

  • 1 ¼ cups of oatmeal
  • 2 su cups of flour or wheat bran ( I used wheat bran)
  • packet of vanilla / 10gr.
  • 1 cups of brown sugar ( *)
  • Chopped nuts, dried grapes, dried apricots,..
  • 1 packet of baking powder / 10gr
  • 200 gr butter
  • 1 egg
(*) You can change the amount of sugar by adding more dried fruits which will naturally give the sugary taste.
a1 (6).JPG
 – Take flour (wheat bran), oatmeal, baking powder, sugar, nuts and dried fruits into a bowl.
 –  Pour the melted butter and egg on to the mix and begin to knead materials until you get a soft dough. ( Actually, the dough will be floppy and loose but ingredients must be mixed well.)
– Prepare walnut size balls and place them on a tray with baking paper.
a1 (9).JPG
– Bake them in a preheated oven at 180° , approximately 20 – 25 min. until they get lightly brown.
a1 (10).JPG
Brew your tea and let’s slow it down this Friday afternoon!
a1 (4).JPG
Enjoy,

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

